Author Topic: Avlinux using only 284mb RAM, I have 4gb!  (Read 1693 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Rodney

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • AVLinux User
Avlinux using only 284mb RAM, I have 4gb!
« on: January 27, 2018, 11:53:02 PM »
Hi there,

      I would like some help, for some Weird reason my AVLinux 2017 x86_64, Started out of nowhere behaving weird lately, it is only using 284mb RAM while I have 4GB available in my computer  :huh: that's awkward. Please see PIC attached for more info.

Any help is welcome

Thanks a lot in advance

Att.: Rodney

Offline korakios

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 225
  • Karma: +9/-1
Re: Avlinux using only 284mb RAM, I have 4gb!
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2018, 04:00:47 AM »
Is this happening when you load projects that are memory hungry too?
How about launching your browser and open 10 tabs ?

Post the results of
Code: [Select]
free -m

Offline keyman69

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • AVLinux User
Re: Avlinux using only 284mb RAM, I have 4gb!
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2018, 12:41:43 PM »
Is that screen not showing you how much the system is currently using of your RAM and that you still have the remainder of the 4 GB available for use?

Offline Rodney

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • AVLinux User
Re: Avlinux using only 284mb RAM, I have 4gb!
« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2018, 07:52:33 PM »
Dear Keyman,

        I am sorry, I had completely forgotten about this topic, I found out what the problem was, it was a malfunction due to overheating in my motherboard, the cooler system was down, my guess is that for safety reasons, my computer was automatically running on its lowest settings to avoid permanent damage to it. In other words, was a self preservation kind of thing, I replaced the cooler and now it's OK.

Thanks a bunch and my apologies again.

Att.: Rodney